School Board and Global Leadership Council

Leaders from business and government who provide advice, on-going deep connections to organisations, and serve as role models for our community.

School Board


The School Board is a working board, overseeing the work of the school and approving major strategic decisions.

Members include:

  • external figures from the business and alumni communities
  • a representative of the Benefactor
  • senior University and School managers
  • representatives from the three academic areas.

The Board meets a minimum of four times a year. It is supported by sub-committees and has delegated responsibility for the School’s day-to-day business to these bodies.

External members

  • Mr Paul Polman, Chair of the Board
  • Dr Vivienne Cox, Vice Chair of the Board
  • Mr Sam Laidlaw, Chair of the Global Leadership Council
  • Mr Wafic Saïd, Benefactor
  • Ms Rasha Khawaja, Benefactor's Representative
  • Ms Wendy Becker, Co-opted Member
  • Ms Janet Dawson, Chair of the Alumni Advisory Council

University and divisional representative

  • Mrs Gill Aitken CB, Registrar
  • Professor Timothy Power, Head of the Social Sciences Division

Officers of the School

  • Professor Soumitra Dutta, Peter Moores Dean, Saïd Business School
  • Mr Manos Kapterian, Chief Operating Officer
  • Dr Eleanor Murray, Associate Dean for Executive Education and Senior Fellow in Management Practice

Saïd Business School faculty representatives

  • Professor Dimitrios Tsomocos, Professor of Financial Economics, representative of the Finance, Accounting, Management Science and Economics (FAME) Academic Area
  • Dr Trudi Lang, Senior Fellow in Management Practice, representative of the Strategy, Innovation and Marketing (SIM) Academic Area
  • Professor Matthias Holweg, American Standard Companies Professor of Operations Management, representative of the Technology, Operations Management and Organisation Studies (TOPOS) Academic Area

Global Leadership Council


The Global Leadership Council has broader representation and serves as a sounding board for the School.

We are grateful for their engagement in the life of the School.

Chair: Sam Laidlaw, Chairman, Neptune Energy; former CEO, Centrica

  • Bill Ackman, CEO, Pershing Square Capital
  • Angela Ahrendts, Chair of the Board, Save the Children International; former CEO Burberry & SVP of Retail and Online Stores Apple
  • Mohamed Amersi, CEO, Emergent Telecom Ventures
  • Alvaro Rodriguez Arregui, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Ignia Partners
  • Vindi Banga, Partner, Clayton, Dubilier & Rice; former Chairman, Hindustan Unilever Ltd
  • Wendy Becker, Chair of the Board, Logitech; former Chief Executive, Jack Wills
  • Vivienne Cox, Chairman Supervisory Board, Vallourec; former Executive Vice-President of BP Gas, Power and Renewables business
  • Sergio Ermotti, Chairman of Swiss Re; former Group Chief Executive Officer, UBS
  • Moya Greene, Non-Executive Director, Easyjet; former Chief Executive Officer, Royal Mail
  • Sam Gyimah, Non-Executive Director, Goldman Sachs International; former UK MP and Minister for Innovation, Technology, Research and Higher Education
  • Vivian Hunt, Senior Partner at McKinsey & Company
  • Jamal bin Huwaireb, Cultural Advisor to the Government of Dubai and Managing Director, Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Foundation
  • Yvonne Ike, Managing Director and Head of Sub Saharan Africa (Ex-RSA) Bank of America
  • Tina Ju, Founding and Managing Partner, KPCB China and TDF Capital
  • Robert Kapito, President, BlackRock
  • Rasha Khawaja, Founder and CEO, Toucan Ventures Ltd
  • Margarita Louis-Dreyfus, Chairperson of the Supervisory Board of Louis Dreyfus Holdings
  • Scott Malkin, Founder and Chairman, Value Retail
  • John Manzoni, Non-Executive Director Diageo; former Permanent Secretary of the Cabinet Office and Chief Executive, Civil Service
  • Hiro Mizuno, United Nations Special Envoy on Innovative Finance and Sustainable Investments; former Chief Investment Officer of the Japan Government Pension Investment Fund
  • Jacqueline Novogratz, Founder and CEO, Acumen
  • Arunma Oteh, Executive-in-Residence, Saïd Business School; former Vice-President and Treasurer, World Bank
  • Paul Polman, Founder and CEO, Imagine; former CEO of Unilever
  • Louise Richardson, Vice-Chancellor, University of Oxford
  • Khaled Said, Managing Partner, Capital Generation Partners LLP
  • Wafic Saïd, Saïd Holdings
  • Geoff Skingsley, Chairman, L’Oréal UK and Ireland
  • Howard Stringer, Non-Executive Chairman, Atrium TV; former Chairman and CEO, Sony Corporation
  • Ning Tang, Founder and CEO, CreditEase
  • Michael Warren, Managing Principal and CEO, Albright Stonebridge Group
  • Miles Young, Warden, New College, University of Oxford; former Chairman and CEO, Ogilvy and Mather
  • Laura Cha, Chairman of the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearings Ltd.